Native Panamanians: Photo Series

Ngöbe-Buglé Comarca

Panama is home to nine different ethnic groups of native Panamanians.  There are seven indigenous cultures:  Kuna, Ngobe, Buglé, Emberá, Wounaan, Talamanca, Bokata, Teribe and Cricamola.  Many of the tribes live on comarca indígenas, which are administrative regions for an area with a substantial indigenous population.

Three comarcas (Comarca Emberá-Wounaan, Kuna Yala, Ngöbe-Buglé) exist as equal to a province, with two smaller comarcas (Kuna de Madugandí and Kuna de Wargandí) subordinate to a province and considered equal to a corregimiento (municipality).

Cayuco on Zapatillas

Bocas del Toro is home to three different indigenous cultures:  Ngobe, Buglé, Teribe and Cricamola.  The Ngöbe-Buglé have come together in a comarca in parts of Bocas del Toro, Chriqui and Veraguas.  This group amounts to over 60% of the country’s indigenous population (5% of the country’s total population).

Ramon and Natalia have pulled together a number of photos for us to share with you.  At Tranquilo Bay we have employees from both the Ngöbe-Buglé and Teribe cultures, but we meet people of all the different cultures throughout our travels here in Panama.

Panama Indigenous Culture

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.